The Life-Changing Power of Printer Cords

Plugging in a printer made me better at yoga, and a better person.

Yep, you read that right.

There aren’t a lot of transformations in my life I can pinpoint to the second, but this is one of them.

About eight years ago, I was fresh out of college and working an office job. After a few years of dappling in yoga, I had started a regular practice of 1-2 classes a week.

It was when I bent down one day to adjust a printer cord that I first consciously took yoga off of my mat. I accidentally maintained awareness – in real time- as I transitioned from standing to kneeling – recognizing how my hips, knees, and feet were aligned.

This was the first time I acknowledged that the physical asanas (poses) we practice on our mats translate to “real life.” It took another year or two until I had embraced my practice enough to implement the benefits of meditation and mindfulness off of my mat.

Everybody is different, and every body is different. Some people have their “a-ha” yoga moments way before I did, and for other people it takes longer.

I have a-ha yoga moments to this day – literally as of tonight, when I stretched toward my toes while taking a bath, and realized (literally laughing at myself) that I was approaching this subconscious stretch with paschimottanasana mindfulness.

At the risk of sounding overly academic and pedantic, yoga is totally super cool. As you develop body awareness on your mat, you discover body awareness off of your mat. This awareness helps us navigate our lives with balance, grace, and health – whether these benefits are manifested through our personal relationships, our physical endurance, or our ability to plug printers into the wall.

And at the end of the day, that awareness is worth more than any down dog, chaturanga,  or handstand.

As always, thanks for reading.

xx,

JW

 

Leave a Reply

